Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 2310 (Christopher): Databases

This guide helps students find library resources to complete the mythology writing assignment in Professor Christophers' Mythology course at the Poinciana Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the library databases listed in this guide, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab.

Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

 

During Atlas outages, click on the icon below to access the library catalog, then follow the instructions above.

 

Mythology Databases

World Folklore and Folklife is the best database to find more about your myth or mythological figure. Many religious stories are also included.

 

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras contains some entries for figures from classical mythology, as well as events that occurred in your myth's civilization.

Other Useful Databases

 

Humanities Source | EBSCO

Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content on literary, scholarly, and creative thought.

 

JSTOR is a database that includes articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences.

 

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Literature (Gale) provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources. Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

eBook Databases

Librarian

Profile Photo
Karene Best
Contact:
Poinciana Campus Library - Room 331B
407-582-6025
Website
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.