Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Hernandez)

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in ENC1102 with Professor Hernandez at the Poinciana Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the library databases listed in this guide, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab.

Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

 

During Atlas outages, click on the icon below to access the library catalog, then follow the instructions above.

 

Searching the Library Catalog

To find books or eBooks in the library catalog, click "Advanced Search" to the right of the catalog search bar.


In the advanced search, type your research topic into the search term box. Then, select "Library Catalog", and set the "Material Type" to Books. Note that this will provide you with both print books and eBooks in your search results.

 

Once your search results load, you will have both print books and eBooks listed in your search results. To limit your catalog search to eBooks, look for the "Availability" limiter on the left side of the page under "Refine Your Results". Clicking on "Available Online" will limit your search results to eBooks which can be accessed online from any location. Note that you may be prompted to log in to your Atlas account again. 

Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Image result for business source complete

Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including advertising, marketing, management, and economics.

 

APA PsycArticles is a great place to find studies conducted about various aspects of family life, personality, and deviant behavior.

Image result for InfoTrac Communication & Mass Media Complete eCollection (Gale

Communication & Mass Media provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.

 

Image result for academic one file

Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and, other subjects.

 

Image result for pop culture universe

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative yet irresistible digital library of information on past and present American and world popular culture (from 1900 to current times).

 

Image result for opposing viewpoints in context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to websites.

 

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current research topics, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.