Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intro to Biotech: Databases

Searching Library Databases

Using Academic Databases
Academic databases allow you access to academic journal articles, newspaper articles, and videos. These sources are preferred by professors because they are credible, scholarly, and provide the highest quality information. 

Helpful Hint

Always select "Full Text" and "Peer-Reviewed" when searching the academic database

Accessing Databases

Getting Started

1) To access the Valencia College Databases, visit atlas.valenciacollege.edu 
Find the box that says "Libraries", then click "Search the Library"


2) At the top of the page, click the tab that says "Databases A-Z"


3) Click the drop-down tab and navigate to "General Databases"

 

Suggested Databases

Try these academic databases to get started:

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.