Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intro to Biotech: APA Examples and Resources

Intro

This course requires students to use APA formatting style. The Valencia College library offers extensive online resources for APA formatting. This page provides links and resources to get you started.

Using APA Style

APA Citation

MLA, APA & Chicago Style Guides - APA Citation


Citation Guides Available in this Section:

Help Sheets and Other Guides:

Additional Resources:

 

APA Citation Manual

Bibliography Tools

Zotero Bibliography - A free resource to create and organize your sources

Creating a Bibliography

Using Microsoft Word to Create a Bibliography
This is the easiest option to create a properly formatted bibliography in APA or MLA style

Click here for video instructions

Step by Step Instructions for using Word to Create a bibliography

  1. Put your cursor at the end of the text you want to cite.

  2. Go to References >  Style, and choose a citation style.

    On the References tab choose a citation style from the Style list
  3. Select Insert Citation.

    Point to Insert Citation, and choose Add New Source
  4. Choose Add New Source and fill out the information about your source.

Once you've added a source to your list, you can cite it again:

  1. Put your cursor at the end of the text you want to cite.

  2. Go to References > Insert Citation, and choose the source you are citing.

    Insert Citation dropdown
  3. To add details, like page numbers if you're citing a book, select Citation Options, and then Edit Citation.

    Select Citation Options, and then Edit Citation

Create a bibliography

With cited sources in your document, you're ready to create a bibliography.

  1. Put your cursor where you want the bibliography.

  2. Go to References Bibliography, and choose a format.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.