Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 Resources (Osceola Campus): Databases

A guide designed to assist Comp II students conduct research at the Osceola Campus Library.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the lower right corner on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Literature Databases

The following databases will help you find author biographies, plot summaries, literary criticisms, and more:

 

http://gale.cengage.co.uk/images/artemis_lit.jpg

Artemis Literary Sources (Gale) integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

 

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full text database that includes plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journal articles, book reviews, author interviews, images, and full text poems, short stories, and novels.

 

Salem Literature contains the online versions of several popular literary print reference sources, such as Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, Magill's Literary Annuals, and Masterplots.

 

Literature Criticism Online is the online archive of Contemporary Literary Criticism, which is available in the reference section of the Osceola Campus Library.

 

The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete provides online versions of Gale's print literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online.

 

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

The following databases will help you find more research about themes found in literature:

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences.