Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INR 2002 (Duncan) - Colonization and Globalization: IGO's & NGO's

A guide to library resources for Professor Duncan's assignment on the impact of colonization and globalization on regions of the world.

Suggested Key Words

intergovernmental organizations, non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, international organizations

also use the names of specific IGOs and NGOs such as

USAID and UNICEF USA (both NGOs)

World Health Organization and IAEA (both IGOs)

What are IGOs and NGOs?

NGOs: Non-Governmental Organizations. Look for terms with names like organization, society, agency, assembly, foundation, trust, federation. Be sure the organization is international in scope (not national).

IGOs: Intergovernmental Organizations or International Governmental Organizations. The UN and its subsidiaries are a major IGO, but there are others as well.

Recommended Search Strategy

Hopefully you were able to identify the names of some IGOs and NGOs that are active in your region from your preliminary research.

If you still need to identify some more IGOs and NGOs, the web site links on this page should help.

To find organizations through Google, use site:int or site:org. Example: Afghanistan site:.int. This will limit your Google results to domestic organizations (.org) or international organizations (.int).

Once you have a list of IGOs, search the news databases for information on these organizations and their impact on the region.

Web Sites

NGO Monitor - Making NGOs Accountable
An NGO "watchdog" group that provides reports and lists of credible (and not so credible) NGOs.

List of IGOs (Northwestern University Library)
A very thorough list of IGOs listed including those from the UN and EU.

NGO Database (Duke University Library)
Extensive database of NGOs searchable by region.

WANGO
Extensive database of NGOs searchable by region.

International Organizations
A good list of IGOs.

 

Library Databases

Connecting to the Library via Atlas

To Connect to the Library via Atlas:

1. Log in to Atlas: http://atlas.valenciacollege.edu.

2. Go to the MyAtlas tab, Courses tab, or Employees tab.

3. Under Libraries, click Search the Library.