Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 (Brown): Databases

A guide to help students complete research essays in Professor Brown's Comp I class at the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the library catalog, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the left side of the "Courses" tab. The library catalog will open in a new window. From this page, do a simple keyword search, or click "Advanced Search" for more options. 

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

 

 

Databases

General Databases

 

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more. This database is helpful to research statistics and issues.


 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database that features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to web sites on a variety of topics. This database is helpful to research any social issues.

 

 

Newsbank provides free access to archives of the Orlando Sentinel, which you can use to research your local organization.

 

 

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present (from 1900 to current times). This database is a good resource for 20th century icons.

 

Newsstand is another international newspaper database that covers major world newspapers, such as the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, The Daily Mail, The Wall Street Journal, and more. While this database covers national papers, it may be helpful to research your organization if it is a branch of a national one (Salvation Army, United Way, etc.).

 

 

PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals ranging in date from 1894 to the present. This database is helpful to research any mental health topics.

 

 

CINAHL provides full-text access to more than 560 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including biomedicine, alternative medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. This database is helpful to research any health issues.

 

Career Databases

Fergusons Career Guidance Center provides career research assistance from Facts on File's Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance and Career Opportunities, as well as archived issues of the journal Career Opportunities News.