Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPC 1608 (Della Costa): Finding Articles

A guide to help students conduct research in Professor Della Costa's Speech classes throughout the semester.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the Libraries box on the left side of the page. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link at the top of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

Note: You may be asked to log into library resources outside of Atlas using a borrower ID and PIN. Your borrower ID is your VID (with the V) and your PIN is the last four numbers in your VID.

Helpful Databases

You can use databases to find more information about events that occurred on your date of birth. There is no database to help you determine what happened each day, so we would recommend finding an event through Google or a library book, then research the actual event in one of these databases. 

The following web sites can help you find events, which you can then research in the library databases

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.