Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 2310 (Adams) - Mythology in Art: Databases

A guide to assist students with the Mythology in Art assignment in Professor Will Adams' Mythology class on the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

There are two ways to access the databases at Valencia College Libraries:

1) Log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the left side of the screen or in the in the upper right corner of the "Courses" tab. When the Library Catalog page opens, you will already be logged in.

2) Start at any Valencia Web Page and select Libraries on Quick Links. Click on the big yellow Search button. You will need to login now. The Login button is at the top right corner of the screen. To do that you will need to enter your VID Valencia Identification number (your "V" number) including the "V" in the box for Borrower ID. Your PIN will be the last 4 digits of your "V" number.

Once the Library Catalog opens and you are logged in, you can choose the database you want either from the “Databases A-Z” tab or from the “Databases by Subject” tab. Both tabs are located at the top above the catalog. When you find the database you would like to use, click on it to access it.

*** NOTE *** Sometimes you may be prompted to use your Borrower ID and PIN to access an article that has been emailed or posted. Use your VID Valencia Identification number (with the V) as the Borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Art & Biography Databases

Oxford Art Online provides web access to the text of The Dictionary of Art, which covers all aspects of the visual arts of every civilization from prehistory to the 1990s.

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. This database will help you obtain background information on your artist's life.

Mythology Database

World Folklore and Folklife is the best database to find more about your myth or mythological figure. Many religious stories are also included.

 

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras contains some entries for figures from classical mythology, as well as events that occurred in your myth's civilization.

 

World Religions contains some information about Greco-Roman mythology. When you open the database, look for the "Religions" tab at the top of the page. On the next page, click "Greco-Roman" under the "Traditional Religions" heading.

Art Research Databases

Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database provides over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images.

 

Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences.

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

Art Image Databases

The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data. This database will help you find images to use in your assignment.

 

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.