Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 2310 (Hedegaard) - Cosmic Myth Presentation: Databases

A guide to help students conduct mythology research in Professor Hedegaard's Mythology classes on the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the lower right corner on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

 

Helpful Databases

World Folklore and Folklife is the best database to find information and articles on mythology, from kinds of myths to actual stories from many different cultures.

 

World Religions contains lots of information about mythology. You can search by your kind of myth (creation, flood, etc.) or by the name of your specific tale. Not all myths will be found here, but a majority are.

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.

 

Humanities Source includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

 

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Search Google Scholar

Having trouble finding articles in the databases? Google Scholar will look for scholarly articles in Valencia's databases, as well as ones that are available online for free. Be sure to go to "Settings" and "Library Links" to change your settings and include results from Valencia.

Google Scholar Search