Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BSC 1005 (Laurent): Databases

This guide can be used by students in Professor Laurent's BSC1005 class at the Poinciana Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by visiting the Valencia College Library website, clicking the icon below and logging in using your VID number (Borrower ID). Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the dropdown menu. Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Science Databases

 

Applied Science and Technology offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences.

GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

 

ScienceDirect contains a wide selection of Life Sciences journal articles and book chapters featuring original research, insightful analysis, current theory and more.  

Multi-Disciplinary Database

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources and includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, and, other subjects.
 

Free database

PubMed is free database that comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.