Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Brand): Response Paper One

This guide is for Professor Brand's students working on response paper 1 & 2.

Logging In

The databases listed on this page require a login. For access:

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in.
  2. Go to the Courses tab.
  3. Click on the Search the Library link.
  4. On the page that follows, click Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.
  5. Click on the name of the database, e.g. Academic Search Complete.
  6. Click on the Connect to Database button.

If Atlas is not available, login using:

  • your VID (including the capital V) as your borrower ID
  • the last four digits of your VID as the PIN.

Prompt 1 and 4

To research the individuality of Nora Helmer in Ibsen's A Doll House or the character of Tom Wingfield in The Glass Menagerie, use literature databases such as:

Literature Resources from Gale

Search strategies:    

Name of Work: A Doll's House and Person by or About: Ibsen 

Name of Work: Glass Menagerie and Person by or About: Williams

Literary Reference Center Plus

Prompt 2 and 3

Jane Martin's Beauty and Jose Rivera's Tape are more recent literary works. Scholars have not yet studied and published on these works, and you will not find much on them in the literature databases. To research the prompts you will need to use a general database and a more general search strategy on the concepts involved (i.e. do not search on Jane Martin's Beauty and Jose Rivera's Tape, search on beauty and lying.)

To research prompts 2 and 3, follow these steps.

1. Before beginning your search, think about what you want to know about the topics and the different ways you could describe the topic.

For #2, begin with the concept of lying.

Can you think of other words for lying? Write them down.

Then think about what direction you would like to take this topic: outcomes? justifications? reasons? Write down some words that describe what you want to learn about.

For #3, begin with the concept of beauty.

Are there other words that also mean beauty? Write them down.

What other words might be important to your search? Write them down. Some examples might be women, expectations, stereotypes.

2. Combine the words you brainstormed to formulate a search strategy.

For example:

  • lying and reasons
  • beauty and stereotypes

Have at least two strategies in mind because the first words you try may not get you exactly what you want, and you may need to try using different combinations to get good results.

3. Connect to Academic Search Complete


4. You will notice that the search screen has multiple boxes. Separate your words into the different boxes, e.g. put lying in the first box and reasons in the second box.