Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Brand): Response Paper Two

This guide is for Professor Brand's students working on response paper 1 & 2.

Logging In

The databases listed on this page require a login. For access:

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in.
  2. Click on the Search the Library link.
  3. On the page that follows, click Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.
  4. Click on the name of the database, e.g. Academic Search Complete.
  5. Click on the Connect to Database button.

If Atlas is not available, login using:

  • your VID (including the capital V) as your borrower ID
  • the last four digits of your VID as the PIN.

Prompt 1 and 2

To research Sandra Cisneros' "House on Mango Street", Amy Tan's "Two Kinds," and Toni Cade Bambara's "The Lesson" use literature databases. Note that it is unlikely that you will find articles that compare the first two stories; most likely you will need to do searches on each one individually and make the comparison yourself.

Try the following:

Literature Resources from Gale

Search strategies:    

Name of Work: House on Mango Street and Person by or About: Cisneros

Literary Reference Center Plus

Note that Amy Tan's "Two Kinds" is one chapter in the book The Joy Luck Club; you may find additional useful articles by searching on the book title.

Prompt 3

There are articles on The Diary of Anne Frank in the literature databases, but these articles do not provide much discussion of government, so you will need to employ some other strategies to find sources.

To research prompt 3, follow these steps.

1. Before beginning your search, think about what you want to know about the topic and the different ways you could describe the topic.

Do you want to know more about government in Anne Frank's time?

Do you want to know more about United States government?

Do you need a definition of government?

2. Select a database (or book) and search.

For historical background on Anne Frank's time,

Try Gale Virtual Reference Library (try a keyword search on diary of anne frank) The reference books in this database contain some historical background. Another database that may be helpful for historical background is History Reference Center.

For information about United States government,

Try American Government Note that you will need to have some idea of what aspect of government you want to look up.

For a good definition of government,

Try Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought. This book is located in the reference section of the library (2nd floor next to the information desk). The call number is REF JA61.S37 2007. If you need assistance locating the book, ask a librarian.