Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPC 1608 (Krause) - Fundamentals of Speech: Research Tips for Informative Speeches

The guide will provide resources for Professor Krause's Persuasive Speech assignment.

Topic Ideas

For All Topics

Most students will find the following library database helpful in their research:

Suggested Databases for Popular Speech Topics

It is a good idea to also explore subject-specific databases for your topic. You may find these more helpful than Academic Search Complete for some topics.

Biographical    Biography in Context
Health / Wellness Health & Wellness Resource Center, PsycArticles
Countries / Cultures Global Road Warrior, Global Issues in Context
Hobbies / Interests Pop Culture Universe
Beliefs / Values JSTOR
Current Events       Global Newsstream, Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Local Information Orlando Sentinel
Music / Art    Oxford Music Online (older), Pop Culture Universe (newer) 

To Select Additional Databases

You may want to explore additional resources on your own.

How to identify a good database to use:

  • Log in to Atlas.
  • Go to the Courses tab.
  • Click Search the Library.
  • Click on Databases By Subject.
  • Choose the subject grouping that best fits the topic you are researching. Your topic may easily fit into several groupings!

Among the databases listed in your subject grouping(s), mouse over or click on the blue "i" icons to see more about each database.

West Campus Librarians