Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (DiLiberto) : Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in Comp II with Professor DiLiberto.

Access the Databases

If you are not accessing this guide through Canvas, you must login to use databases links. There are two ways to do this.

1. Login via Atlas

  • Open a new tab or window
  • Login to Atlas
  • Go to the Courses tab
  • Click on Search the Library on the right-hand side of the screen.
  • You are now logged in to the library system and can go back to the guide and click on database links.

2. Login manually

  • If Atlas is down or you just don't want to bother getting into it, use this method.
  • Click on a database link in the guide.
  • The screen asks you to login using your Borrower ID and PIN.
  • The Borrower ID is your V number including a capital V at the beginning.
  • The PIN is the last four digits of your V number.

 

 

Ask A Librarian

Additional Databases

Here are some additional resources for historical and cultural background:

And here are some resources you may find helpful if you are using a psychological approach:

 

The complete list of library databases may be viewed by subject:

Literature Databases

The following databases will help you find author biographies, plot summaries, literary criticisms, and more:

 

 

Gale Literary Sources provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources. Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

 

 

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full text database that includes plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journal articles, book reviews, author interviews, images, and full text poems, short stories, and novels.

 

 

 

Literature Criticism Online is the online archive of Contemporary Literary Criticism, which is also available in the Reference section of the library.

 

Image result for ebook collection salem press

eBook Collection (Salem Press) contains the online versions of several popular literary print reference sources, such as Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, Magill's Literary Annuals, and Masterplots.

 

 

 

The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete provides online versions of Gale's print literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online. These award-winning and long-standing literature series are delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format.

   

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines including Literature. It may be searched in combination with other EBSCO databases such as PsycArticles and History Reference Center.

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences. This database should help you search for information on your literary criticism.

 

Films on Demand is a database of streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects including documentaries, television broadcasts, educational films, and more.

 

Virtual Reference Library is a database of reference books on a wide variety of subjects and includes Literature and Its Times.