Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

East Campus Library Weeding Process: What is Weeding?

"What happened to that book that was never checked out?"

What is Weeding?

Weeding, also know as deselection or deaccessioning, 

refers to the removal of outdated, obsolete and

worn materials, and is as important to a library collection

as acquiring or purchasing new materials.

Valencia College Library Collection Development Policy

The Valencia College Library Collection Development Procedure defines how our library chooses materials to be included in the collection. It also comments on the need for the library to maintain the integrity of the collection through deselection.

 

From the Valencia College Library Collection Development Procedure:

Definition of Collection Development Collection development refers to the process of building and maintaining the library’s entire materials collection, encompassing print, non-print, and electronic formats. The primary purpose of collection development is to meet the informational needs of learners. Resources purchased with library funds are for the library circulating and non-circulating collection only. The collection development process includes the formulation of guidelines and procedures, coordination of acquisition activities, budget formulation and allocation, needs assessments, collection evaluations, selection, resource sharing and deselection.

 

Both the Valencia College Library Collection Development Procedure and the Valencia Library's Mission Statement guide the weeding/deselection process.

You can read the entire Valencia College Library Collection Development Procedure by clicking on the link below.

Valencia College Libraries Mission Statement

Valencia Libraries Mission Statement

The mission of the Valencia College libraries is to provide a variety of learning centered resources, services, and facilities to support a diverse community; to encourage academic achievement, student success, and lifelong learning; and to enhance teaching excellence.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.