Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

East Campus Library Weeding Process: Weeding Process

"What happened to that book that was never checked out?"

East Campus Weeding Process

GENERAL WEEDING GUIDELINES

 

Continuous weeding is necessary to maintain collections so that they offer a balance between standard classics and the currently popular while eliminating incorrect information and worn books.  Collections should also reflect usage patterns and trends, as topics and formats may need to be weeded based on waning student and faculty interest. 

It is important to note that weeding is always based on professional judgment.  Just as in selection, the content of the current collection, resource sharing, materials available from publishers and producers and community needs must all be considered in decision making.  In weeding certain areas, such as religion or social sciences, a balance of viewpoints must be maintained.

When considering whether to weed items that would leave a collection lacking in a particular area, it may be helpful to consult the online catalog to determine whether more up-to-date materials are available either in print from other locations or in electronic format.  Of course, the decision may also be made to request or select new titles on the topic. 

The purpose of weeding is to:

·         Utilize available space in the best and most economical way

·         Maintain up-to-date collections and the library’s reputation for reliability

·         Increase speed of access and improve accuracy of retrieval

·         Remove books least likely to be used in the future

·         Increase circulation

·         Locate books that need to be repaired, rebound or replaced

·         Save expense of housing materials unnecessarily

·         Review collection for content and identify areas where additional titles are needed

·         Become aware of changes in the way the community uses the collection


CREW: A Weeding Manual for Modern Libraries

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Diane Dalrymple
Contact:
701 N Econlockhatchee Trail
Orlando, FL 32825
407-582-2887
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.