Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

East Campus Library Weeding Process: Sources

"What happened to that book that was never checked out?"

Books on Weeding

Articles on Weeding

Burgett, Shelley Wood. “A Comprehensive Weeding Project for a Community College Library Collection or Bye Bye Books.” Kentucky Libraries, vol. 70, no.4, Fall 2006, pp. 17-21. Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, http://db29.linccweb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lih&AN=23263746&site=eds-live. Accessed 19 Oct. 2012.   

Jacob, Merle. "Weeding the Fiction Collection: Or Should I Dump Peyton Place." Reference & User Services Quarterly, vol 40, no. 3, Spring 2001: pp. 234-239. Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, http://db29.linccweb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lih&AN=4433832&site=eds-live.  Accessed 9 Nov. 2012.

Lee, Marta. “Weeding is Not Just for Gardeners: A Case Study on Weeding a Reference Collection.” Community & Junior College Libraries, vol. 15, no. 3, Jan. 2009, pp 129-135. Library Literature & Information Science Full Text,  doi: 10.1080/02763910902979460. Accessed 19 Oct. 2012.   

Moroni, Alene E. “Weeding in a Digital Age: Shelf Clutter Can Be a Problem for eBooks as Well.” Library Journal, vol. 137, no. 15, Sept. 2012, pp. 26-28. Library Information Science and Technology Full Text, http://db29.linccweb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ccm&AN=104427557&site=eds-live. Accessed 19 Oct. 2012.   

Rais, Shirley, et al. “Creating Core Title Lists for Print Subscriptions Retention and Storage/Weeding.” Serials Librarian, vol. 58, no. 1-4, Jan. 2010, pp. 244-249. Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, doi: 10.1080/03615261003625984. Accessed 19 Oct. 2012.   

Singer, Carol A. “Weeding Gone Wild: Planning and Implementing a Review of the Reference Collection.” Reference & User Services Quarterly, vol. 47, no. 3, Mar. 2008, pp. 256-264. Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, doi: 10.5860/rusq.47n3.256. Accessed 19 Oct. 2012.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.