Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POS 2041 (Geeslin) - Literature/Article Review: Recommended Databases

Suggested Reading List

New York Times   (Newsstand)    

Washington Post (Newsstand)    

Wall Street Journal (Newsstand)    

Congressional Quarterly and Related Publications (CQ Researcher)

Journal of Politics (Academic Search Complete)

Time (Academic Search Complete)

Newsweek (Academic Search Complete)

U. S. News and World Report (Academic Search Complete)

Businessweek (Business Source Complete)

Fortune (Business Source Complete)

Orlando Sentinel (Newsbank)

CNN Online

MSNBC

Center for Responsive Politics

Westlaw

Harpers Weekly

American Political Science Review

                          

Newsstand

Newsstand contains articles from some of the major newspapers such as New York Times and Washington Post.

Tip: Publication Title searches for specific sources.

Click here for access to Newsstand

 

 

Newsbank

Newsbank is a database containing articles from newspapers and magazines around the country dating back to 1985.

Tip: Lead/First Paragraph searches for the main subject of the article

Click here for access to Newsbank

 

Other Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete

Lots of news magazine are available in this database, including Time, Newsweek, and U.S. News and World Report. Journal of Politics is also in this one.

Business Source Complete

This database is all business information and contains sources such as Businessweek and Fortune.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive

Explores a single “hot” issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science.  Also contains a complete archive dating back to 1923 with over 3,000 in-depth reports.

 

Opposing Viewpoints

This database provides viewpoints about controversial issues on a nationwide scale as well as internationally.  Under each topic you can find columns dedicated to newspaper and magazine articles. This is also a good source for brainstorming ideas.

West Campus Librarians