Books - BSC1011C - Empirical Research - LibGuides at Valencia College

Finding Books

To access the library catalog, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the left side of the "Courses" tab. The library catalog will open in a new window. From this page, do a simple keyword search, or click "Advanced Search" for more options.

Browsing Guide

If you prefer to visit the Osceola Library and browse the shelves for books on your artist or the art movement they belong to, you can look under the following call numbers in both the reference and circulating collections.

Q -- Science

QH -- Natural History (Biology)

QH1-278.5 -- General, Natural History

QH301-705.5 -- General, Biology

QH359-425 -- Evolution

QH426-470 -- Genetics

QH471-489 -- Reproduction

QH501-531 -- Life

QH540-549.5 -- Ecology

QH573-671 -- Cytology

QH705-705.5 -- Economic Biology

QK -- Botany

QK1-474.5 -- General, Botany

QK474.8-495 -- Spermatophyta; Phanerogams

QK494-494.5 -- Gymnosperms

QK495 -- Angiosperms

QK504-638 -- Cryptogams

QK640-707 -- Plant anatomy

QK710-899 -- Plant physiology

QK900-989 -- Plant ecology

QL -- Zoology

QL1-355 -- General, Zoology

QL360-599.82 -- Invertebrates

QL461-599.82 -- Insects

QL605-739.8 -- Chordates; Vertebrates

QL614-639.8 -- Fishes

QL640-669.3 -- Reptiles and amphibians

QL671-699 -- Birds

QL700-739.8 -- Mammals

QL750-795 -- Animal behavior

QL791-795 -- Stories and anecdotes, Animal Behavior

QL799-799.5 -- Morphology

QL801-950.9 -- Anatomy

QL951-991 -- Embryology

Your Assignment

Though your assignment requires finding peer-reviewed journal articles, book sources may help you find a topic, or even be helpful in developing some background information about your chosen topic. Some suggested titles can be found below. If you wish to find other books about your specific topic, try the book search to the left by clicking the red "LINCC Catalog" box.

Books in the Library

The following reference books are available at the Osceola Campus Library and are relevant to your assignment:

Please note that reference books must be viewed in the library, and cannot be checked out. The library also has a number of related books that can be checked out. Do an online book search (directions to the left), or consult a campus librarian for help locating these books.

Encyclopedia of Human Ecology by Miller, Julia R.
Call Number: REF GF4.E53 2003
ISBN: 1576078523
Publication Date: 2003
An encyclopedia with entries relevant to human ecology, the study of relationships between humans and their environments, natural and social.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Call Number: REF Q121.M3 2012
ISBN: 0071778349
Publication Date: 2012
Comprehensive encyclopedia covering a variety of topics in science and technology such as cell biology, conservation, ecology, evolution, genetics, invertebrates, oceanography, plants, vertebrates, and many more.
The Biology of Polar Regions by Thomas, David N.
Call Number: REF QH541.5.P6 F64 2008
ISBN: 0199298130
Publication Date: 2008
Particular emphasis in this book is placed on the organisms that dominate these extreme environments although pollution, conservation and experimental aspects are also considered. This accessible text is suitable for both senior undergraduate and graduate students taking courses in polar ecology, often as part of a wider marine biology degree program. It will also be of value and use to the many professional ecologists and conservation biologists requiring a concise overview of the topic.
International Wildlife Encyclopedia by Maurice Burton
Call Number: REF QL9.B796 2002
ISBN: 0761472665
Publication Date: 2002
This twenty-two volume set presents the appearance and behavior of thousands of species of animals along with species population and prospects for survival in a arranged alphabetically and easy-to-read format.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by Mai, Larry L.
Call Number: REF QP34.5.M24 2005
ISBN: 0521662508
Publication Date: 2005
Packed with 13000 descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, this invaluable research and study tool covers a broad range of subjects including human biology, physical anthropology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology. The volume also includes over 1000 word roots, taxonomies and reference tables for extinct, recent and extant primates, and illustrations of landmarks, bones and muscles. It is essential for students, researchers, and anyone with an interest in human biology or evolution.
Recent Advances and Issues in Biology by Mertz, Leslie A.
Call Number: QH307.2.M47 2000
ISBN: 1573562343
Publication Date: 2000
Biologist and veteran science writer Leslie A. Mertz covers the past five years of advances in biology in this cutting-edge reference. Topics covered include biodiversity, ecosystem management and sustainable development, evolution, molecular biology, and genetics.