Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Robbins) : Databases

A research guide for Professor Robbins' Comp II class at the Poinciana Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the Library box on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect.

In the event that Atlas is not working, you can click the Online Databases box below to log into the databases. You will be prompted to log in using your Borrower ID and PIN. Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your Valencia ID, and the PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. 

Clicking the database links within this page will require you to log in using your VID.

Searching the Library Databases

Searching the library databases is very different than searching Google. To see an example of how to search a database, view the video below. The database highlighted in the video is called Academic Search Complete. It shows how to search using keywords as well as contains information on citing databases in MLA format.

This second video contains additional keyword searching information in the Academic Search Complete databases. It shows how to expand your search using your keywords as well as your synonyms or related terms. There is also an example of how to expand your search adding additional subject-specific databases.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
 

JSTOR contains scholarly full-text articles in the subject areas of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Subject Specific Databases

Image result for business source complete

Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business including advertising, marketing, management, and economics.

 

CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. It contains more than 1,300 full-text nursing & allied health journals.

 

Education Source provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policymakers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

 

APA PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals ranging in date from 1894 to the present.

 

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.