Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask The Puma Research Guides: East of Eden (the 1955 movie)

Quick start research guides to hundreds of assignments given at Valencia East Campus.

Resources

East of Eden (the 1955 movie)

 

The interaction between two sets of brothers and two families provides the themes of jealousy and betrayal as well as loyalty and love. Director Elia Kazan attempts to tell about a quarter of the epic John Steinbeck novel, East of Eden. The quarter of the novel that is recounted in the movie is relatively faithful to the text. Actor James Dean made his big screen debut playing Cal Trask in this ‘good son, bad son’ movie classic.

 

 

Circulating Books/Movies – A Selected List

 

  • Kazan, Elia. Kazan: The Master Director Discusses His Films. 1999.

                       Call Number: PN1998.3 .K39 A5 1999

 

 

Reference Materials

 

  • New York Times Film ReviewsCall Number: REF PN1995 .N4

o   1949-58, March 10, 1955, pgs. 2849-2850.

  • Motion Picture GuideCall Number: REF PN1995 .N346 1985

o   Vol. III, pgs. 737-738.

  • Magill’s Survey of Cinema, English Language Films (First Series)Call Number: REF PN1995 .M3

o   Vol. 1, pgs. 488-490.

  • Encyclopedia of Novels into FilmCall Number: REF PN1997.85 .T54 2005

o   Pgs. 111-112.

  • International Directory of Films & FilmmakersCall Number: REF PN1997.8 .I58 

o   Vol. 1, pgs. 276-277.

 

 

Research Databases

To access Valencia’s research databases, open your Atlas account, select ‘Search the Library’, then select ‘Databases A-Z’.

 

 

Films on Demand Database 

  • East of Eden (SEGMENT)
    • From Title: Elia Kazan
    • DESCRIPTION: This film features the debut of James Dean. Bonnie Greer describes the plot of the film adaptation of John Steinbeck's novel set in California at the turn of the century.
  • Hollywood Fame (SEGMENT)
    • From Title: John Steinbeck: A Concise Biography
    • DESCRIPTION: Steinbeck moved into the top league in Hollywood with the success of the films of his books. With a new, supportive wife, Steinbeck wrote "East of Eden," about the Salinas Valley. The couple moved to Sag Harbor.

 

This Research Guide is designed to help users find information on a particular topic within the Valencia College East Campus Library.  This is by no means a comprehensive list of resources and other resources may be available on this topic.  Please check LINCCWeb, Valencia East’s online catalog, to verify the availability of circulating books within the library.  Feel free to ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.

 

Valencia College East Campus Library

Last Revised November 20, 2021

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.