Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask The Puma Research Guides: Vertigo (the 1958 movie)

Quick start research guides to hundreds of assignments given at Valencia East Campus.

Resources

Vertigo (the 1958 movie)

 

Alfred Hitchcock was famous for directing films of the suspense/horror genre.  One of his most famous movies was the 1958 thriller, Vertigo.  This motion picture concerned a detective with a fear of heights who grew to love a lady who then jumped or fell to her death.  After this happened, he met another woman who eerily resembled the first doomed one.

 

 

LINCCWeb online catalog – Search Terms

 

  • Hitchcock, Alfred (Subject)
  • Vertigo (Title)

 

 

Call Numbers for Browsing the Shelves

 

  • PN1997 .A1 A39
  • PN1998.3 .H58

 

 

Circulating Books and Films  –  A Selected List

 

  • Bellour, Raymond. The Analysis of Film. 2000.
    • Call Number: PN1998.3 .H58 B4513 2000
  • Conrad, Peter. The Hitchcock Murders. 2000.
    • Call Number: PN1998.3 .H58 C66 2000
  • Freedman, Jonathan (Ed.). Hitchcock’s America. 1999.
    • Call Number: PN1998.3 .H58 H575 1999
  • Hitchcock, Alfred (Director). Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection. 2005.
    • Call Number: PN1997 .A1 A39 2005 Discs 5-8 (DVD – Includes Vertigo)
  • Hitchcock, Alfred (Director). Vertigo. 1958, 1998.
    • Call Number: DVD PN1997.85 .V47 1998 (Non-Circulating – In Audio-Visual Department)  
  • Krohn, Bill. Hitchcock at Work. 2000.
    • Call Number: PN1998.3 .H58 K76 2000
  • Spoto, Donald. The Art of Alfred Hitchcock. 1992.
    • Call Number: PN1998.3 .H58 S68 1992
  • Walker, Michael. Hitchcock’s Motifs. 2005.
    • Call Number: PN1998.3 .H58 W36 2005
  • Wood, Robin. Hitchcock’s Films Revisited. 1989.
    • Call Number: PN1998.3 .H58 W66 1989

 

 

Reference Materials

 

  • Blockbusters: A Reference Guide to Film Genres.Call Number: REF PN1995 .G663 2006
    • Pgs. 49, 214, 221
  • The Encyclopedia of Alfred Hitchcock. Call Number: REF PN1998.3 .H58 L45 2002
    • Pgs. 355-357
  • International Dictionary of Films/Filmmakers (2nd Ed.).Call Number: REF PN1997.8 .I58 V. 1
    • Vol. 1, pgs. 948-950
  • Magill’s Survey of Cinema:English Language Films(2nd Series).  - Call Number: REF PN1995 .M3 1981 V. 6
    • Vol. 6, pgs. 2612-2615
  • The Motion Picture Guide.Call Number: REF PN1995 .N346 1985 V.8
    • Vol. 8, pgs. 3675-3676

 

 

Electronic Databases  

To access Valencia’s research databases, open your Atlas account, select ‘Search the Library’, then select ‘Databases A-Z’.

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Film & Television Literature Index
  • Humanities Full Text
  • JSTOR

 

 

This Research Guide is designed to help users find information on a particular topic within the Valencia College East Campus Library.  This is by no means a comprehensive list of resources and other resources may be available on this topic.  Please check LINCCWeb, Valencia East’s online catalog, to verify the availability of circulating books within the library.  Feel free to ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.

Valencia College East Campus Library

Last Revised November 20, 2021

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.