Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask The Puma Research Guides: Ecstasy of Saint Teresa

Quick start research guides to hundreds of assignments given at Valencia East Campus.

Resources

Ecstasy of Saint Teresa

Gianlorenzo Bernini (1598-1680) was a famous Italian artist from the Baroque era.  One of his more renowned works is a marble figure group of Saint Teresa having her heart pierced by an angel.  This sculpture, the Ecstasy of Saint Teresa, is located in the Cornaro Chapel in Rome, Italy.       

                         

LINCCWeb Online Catalog – Search Term

  • Bernini (Keyword)

Call Numbers for Browsing the Shelves

  • N5300
  • N6415
  • NB623

Circulating Books – A Selected List

  • Adams, Laurie Schneider. Key Monuments of the Baroque. 2000.

                              Call Number: N6415 .B3  A33 2000

  • Avery, Charles. Bernini: Genius of the Baroque. 2006.

                              Call Number: NB623 .B5 A94 2006

  • Kleiner, Fred. Gardner’s Art Through the Ages (10th Edition). 1996.

                                Call Number: N5300 .G25 1996

  • Martin, John Rupert. Baroque. 1977.

                                 Call Number: N6415 .B3 M37

  • Toman, Rolf (Ed.). Baroque: Architecture, Sculpture, Painting. 1998. 

                               Call Number: N6415 .B3 K8613 1998

Reference Materials

  • Bostrom, Antonia (Ed.). Encyclopedia of Sculpture. 2004.

                                Call Number: REF NB198 .E53 2004 V. 1                             

o   Vol. 1, pgs. 153-155 (Bernini)

  •  Landi, Ann. Schirmer Encyclopedia of Art. 2002.

                                Call Number: REF N31 .L3 2002 V.1 

o     Vol. 1, pgs. 63-64

  • Marceau, Jo (Ed.). Art: A World History. 1998.

                                 Call Number: REF N5300 .A69513 1998

o   Pgs. 265-266

  • Turner, Jane (Ed.). Dictionary of Art. 1996.

                                  Call Number: REF N31 .D5 1996 V.3

o   Vol. 3, pgs. 831-832 (Bernini)

Research Databases

To access Valencia’s research databases, open your Atlas account, select ‘Search the Library’, then select ‘Databases A-Z’.

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Grove Art Online – Oxford Art Online
  •  JSTOR
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega

This Research Guide is designed to help users find information on a particular topic within the Valencia College East Campus Library.  This is by no means a comprehensive list of resources and other resources may be available on this topic.  Please check the LINCCWeb, VCC East’s online catalog, to verify the availability of circulating books within the library.  Feel free to ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.

Copyright 2008

Valencia College East Campus Library

Last Revised on November 12, 2008

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.