Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask The Puma Research Guides: Zoroastrianism

Quick start research guides to hundreds of assignments given at Valencia East Campus.

Resources

                                                          Zoroastrianism

Zoroaster is the Greek word for Zarathustra who was an Iranian religious leader and prophet.  He founded an ancient Parsee religion known as Zoroastrianism in which the powers of good and evil fight to a conclusion.  It is a montheistic religion which has current followers and is one of the oldest living religions.

 

Call Numbers for Browsing the Shelves

  • BL 610, 805, 1525, 1570

 

LINCCWeb Online Catalog – Search Terms

  • Zoroaster
  • Zoroastrianism
  • Mystery religions
     

Circulating Books – A Selected List

  • Boyce, Mary.  The Zoroastrians, Their Beliefs and Practices.  1979.

                Call Number:  BL1525 .B695

  • Burkert, Walter.  Ancient Mystery Cults. 1987.

                 Call Number:  BL610 .B87 1987

  • Cooper, D. Jason.   Mithras: Mysteries and Initiation Rediscovered.  1996.

                  Call Number:  BL1585 .C66 1996

  • Jones, Prudence.  A History of Pagan Europe.  1999.

                   Call Number:  BL689 .J66 1999

  • Momigliano, Arnaldo.  On Pagans, Jews, and Christians.  1987.

                   Call Number:  BL810 .M66 1987

  • Rose, H.J.  Religion in Greece and Rome.  1959.

                   Call Number:  BL722 .R66

  • Turcan, Robert.  The Cults of the Roman Empire.  1996.

                   Call Number:  BL805 .T8713 1996  (Also in REF)

  • Ulansey, David.  The Origins of the Mithraic Mysteries.  1989.

                  Call Number:  BL1585 .U43 1989

  • World's Religions: Understanding the Living Faiths.  1993.

                  Call Number:  BL80.2 .W69 1993

  • Zaehner, R.C.  Teachings of the Magi: a Compendium of Zoroastrian Beliefs.  1976.

                   Call Number:  BL1570 .Z3 1976

 

 

Reference Books

  • Bowker, John.  Oxford Dictionary of World Religions.  1997. 

                      Call Number:  REF BL31 .O84 1997, 1069-72.

  • Collinson, Diane. Thirty-five Oriental Philosophers.  1994.

                     Call Number:  REF B5005 .C65 1998, 4-8.

  • Cotterell, Arthur.  From Artistotle to Zoroaster.  1998.

                      Call Number:  REF CB311 .C83 1998, 447-49.

  • Encyclopedia of Religion.

                        Call NumberREF BL31 .E46 v.15, 579-91.

  • Man, Myth and Magic.  1997.  (Also in Circulating Books)

                         Call Number:  REF BF1407 .M34 1997  v.20, 2870-75.

  • Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of World Religions.  1999.

                         Call Number:  REF BL31 .M47, 1164-66.

  • Myths and Legends.  2000. 

                          Call Number:  REF GR74 .M97 2000, 228-29.

  • Stein, Gordon.  Encyclopedia of Unbelief.  1985.

                          Call Number:  REF BL2705 .E53 1985 v.1, 144-45.

 

 

     Research Databases

     To access Valencia’s research databases, open your Atlas account, select ‘Search the Library’, then select

     ‘Databases A-Z’.

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Ancient and Medieval History 

 

 

 

 

This Research Guide is designed to help users find information on a particular topic within the Valencia College East Campus Library.  This is by no means a comprehensive list of resources and other resources may be available on this topic.  Please check LINCCWeb, Valencia East’s online catalog, to verify the availability of circulating books within the library.  Feel free to ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.   

 

Valencia College East Campus Library

Last Revised on November 20, 2021

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.