Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask The Puma Research Guides: Vezelay Sainte Madeleine

Quick start research guides to hundreds of assignments given at Valencia East Campus.

Resources

Vezelay Sainte Madeleine

Vezelay Sainte Madeleine is a former Cluniac abbey in Burgundy, France. After Pope Pascall II declared that bones buried in the church were genuine relics of Mary Magdelen, the church became a destination for pilgrims.  It is a well known example of the Romanesque style of architecture.

Call Numbers for Browsing the Shelves 

  • NA 350, 390, 5453

 

LINCCWeb Online Catalog – Search Terms

 

  • Architecture, Medieval
  • Architecture, Romanesque
  • Vezelay

 

Circulating Books – A Selected List

         (When using the index in the books,  look under Sainte Madeleine as well as Vezelay)

  • Barral i Altet, Xavier. The Romanesque :Town, Cathedrals, and Monasteries. 1998.

                      Call Number:  NA390 .B37 1998.

  • Calkins, Robert. Medieval Architecture in Western Europe.1998.

                       Call Number:  NA5453 .C35 1998. Includes CD.

  • Huyghe, Rene. Larousse Encyclopedia of Byzantine and Medieval Art. 1974.

                       Call Number N5970 .H813 1974.

  • James, John. Travelers Key to Medieval France. 1986.

                      Call Number: NA5543 .J35 1986.

  • Kendall, Calvin.  The Allegory of the Church. 1998.

                       Call Number:  NA5453 .K46 1998.

  • Stalley, Roger. Early Medieval Architecture 1999.

                     Call Number:  NA350 .S78 1999.

  • Toman, Rolf.  Romanesque Architecture, Sculpture, Painting. 1997.

                       Call Number:  N6280 .R64 1997.

 

Reference Books

  • Dictionary of Art. 

                      Call Number:  REF N31 .D5 1996. 395-398. 

  • Encyclopedia of World Art.

                    Call Number REF N31 .E533 v. 12. 333-334, 372, 386, 389, 655, pl. 204,242.

  • Sir Banister Fletcher’s A History of Architecture.  1987.

                    Call Number:  REF NA200 .F63 1987, 390-94.

  • Vezelay, the Great Romanesque Church. 1999.

                     Call Number:  REF NB551 .V45 .R6813 1999.

 

Research Databases

To access Valencia’s research databases, open your Atlas account, select ‘Search the Library’, then select ‘Databases A-Z’.

  • Academic Search Complete

 

This Research Guide is designed to help users find information on a particular topic within the Valencia College East Campus Library.  This is by no means a comprehensive list of resources and other resources may be available on this topic.  Please check LINCCWeb, Valencia East’s online catalog, to verify the availability of circulating books within the library.  Feel free to ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.    

 

Valencia College East Campus Library

Last Revised on November 20, 2021

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.