Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask The Puma Research Guides: Lilith

Quick start research guides to hundreds of assignments given at Valencia East Campus.

Resources

Lilith

Lilith is an ancient name for a goddess.  According to Hebrew legend Lilith was the first woman created.  Lilith was Adam’s first wife and demanded equality with him.  When Adam refused, Lilith ran away to the desert.  There she consorted with demons and became the mother of demons.

 

LINCCWeb online catalog – Search Term

 

  • Lilith (Keyword)

 

Call Numbers for Browsing the Shelves

 

  • BL458-BL473
  • BL1605
  • BM530

 

Circulating Books – A Selected List

  • Gadon, Elinor W.  The Once and Future Goddess. 1989.

                    Call Number:  BL473.5 .G33 1989

  • Ginzberg, Louis. Legends of the Bible. 1956.

                   Call Number:  BM530 .G51 1956

  • Hurwitz, Siegmund. Lilith: The First Eve. 1992.

                   Call Number:  BL1605 .L55 H8713 1992

  • Rappoport, Angelo. Ancient Israel: Myths and Legends. 1987.

                  Call Number:  BM530 .R3 1987

  • Schwartz, Howard. Gabriel’s Palace: Jewish Mystical Tales. 1994.

                  Call Number:  BM530 .S465 1994

  • Stone, Merlin. When God Was a Woman. 1976b.

                  Call Number:  BL458 .S76 1976b

 

 

Reference Materials

 

  • Encyclopedia of Religion.Call Number:  REF BL31 .E46 2005

o   Vol. 8, pgs. 5458-5460

  • Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion. – Call Number:  REF BL458 .E53 1999

o   Vol. 2, pg. 593

  • Man, Myth & Magic.Call Number:  REF BF1407 .M34 1997

o   Vol. 11, pg. 1532

  • Myths and Legends of the World.Call Number:  REF BL311 .M97 2000

o   Vol. 3, pg. 28

  • Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion. – Call Number:  REF BM50 .O94 1997

o   Pgs. 421-422

  • Storm, Rachel.  Encyclopedia of Eastern Mythology.Call Number:  REF BL1055 .S76 1999

o   Pgs. 40, 50

  • Walker, Barbara G. Woman’s Encyclopedia of Myths and Secrets.Call Number:  REF BL458 .W34 1983

o   Pgs. 541-542

 

 

Research Databases

To access Valencia’s research databases, open your Atlas account, select ‘Search the Library’, then select ‘Databases A-Z’.

  • Academic Search Complete – (Use Lilith and myth.)
  • JSTOR – (Use Lilith and myth.)
  • World Folklore and Folklife – (Use Lilith.)

 

 

This Research Guide is designed to help users find information on a particular topic within the Valencia College East Campus Library.  This is by no means a comprehensive list of resources and other resources may be available on this topic.  Please check the LINCCWeb, Valencia East’s online catalog, to verify the availability of circulating books within the library.  Feel free to ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.

 

Copyright  2005

Valencia College East Campus Library

Last Revised on November 20, 2021

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.