Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask The Puma Research Guides: Literary Movements

Quick start research guides to hundreds of assignments given at Valencia East Campus.

Resources

Literary Movements

A literary movement centers around a group of literature concerned with common themes.  Often such a movement is popular during a specific time period.  For example, Romanticism is a literary movement that emphasized feelings and emotions, not logic, and that movement flourished primarily during the early 1800’s.

LINCCWeb online catalog – Search Term

  • Literary Movements   (Books – Exact Phrase – East Campus)

 

Call Numbers for Browsing the Shelves

  •  PN41
  • REF PN41-REF PN81
  • REF PN471-REF PN597     *(Such call numbers may be most useful in our Reference Area.)    

 

Circulating Books and Materials – A Selected List

  • Adams, James. A History of Victorian Literature.  2009.

                        Call Number:  PR461 .A33 2009

  • Buck, Claire (Editor).  Bloomsbury Guide to Women’s Literature. 1992.    

                       Call Number:  PN471 .B57 1992

  • Cuddon, J. A. Penguin Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory (4th Edition).  1999.    

                      Call Number:  PN41 .C83 1999

  • Dittman, Michael J. Masterpieces of Beat Literature. 2007.    

                       Call Number:  PS228 .B6 D58 2007

  • Harmon, William.  Handbook to Literature (7th Edition). 1996.    

                      Call Number:  PN41 .H355 1996

  • Maus, Derek (Editor).  Postmodernism.  2001.    

                      Call Number:  PN98 .P67 P673 2001

  • Morse, David.  American Romanticism.  1987.    

                      Call Number:  PS169 .R6 M67 1987  (Volumes 1 and 2)

  • Roe, Nicholas (Editor).  Romanticism: An Oxford Guide. 2005.

                    Call Number:  PR457 .R4575 2005

  • Worley, Demetrice. African-American Literature: An Anthology (2nd Edition). 1998.     

                   Call Number:  PS508 .N3 A33 1998

 

Reference Materials

  • Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs. Call Number:  REF PN43 .D48 1988

o Volumes 1 and 2

  • Feminism In Literature.Call Number:  REF PN471 .F43 2005

o Volumes 1-6

  • Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature.Call Number:  REF PN41 .G36 2009

o Volumes 1-4

  • Literary Movements for Students.Call Number:  REF PN597 .L58 2002

o Volumes 1-2

  • Literature and Its Times.Call Number:  REF PN50 .L574 1997

o Volumes 1-5

  • New Handbook of Literary Terms.Call Number:  REF PN41 .M48 2007
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Movements Dictionary.Call Number:  REF PN597 .T94 2000
  • World Literature and Its Times.Call Number:  REF PN50 .M625

o Volumes 1-8


 

Research Databases

To access Valencia’s research databases, open your Atlas account, select “Search the Library,” then select “Databases A-Z.”

  • Academic Search Complete
  • JSTOR
  • Literary Reference Center Plus
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega 
  • Virtual Reference Library *(Use Subject Guide Search. Type in  literary movement.)

This Research Guide is designed to help users find information on a particular topic within the Valencia College East Campus Library.  This is by no means a comprehensive list of resources and other resources may be available on this topic.  Please check the LINCCWeb, Valencia East’s online catalog, to verify the availability of circulating books within the library.  Feel free to ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.

Copyright 2012

Valencia College East Campus Library

Last Revised on February 9, 2012

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.