Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask The Puma Research Guides: Design – (Including Graphic Design)

Quick start research guides to hundreds of assignments given at Valencia East Campus.

Resources

Design – (Including Graphic Design)

Design is the practice of planning or designing 3-dimensional objects or printed information.  (Graphic design specifically deals with planning 2-dimensional printed or computer-generated information.)  Designs can be used for useful objects or for advertising, publications, or websites.   

LINNCWeb online catalog – Search Terms

  • Design (Subject)
  • Graphic Design (Subject)

 

Call Numbers for Browsing the Shelves

  • NC997-NC1000
  • NK1390, NK1510
  • T385
  • Z244-Z246

Circulating Books – A Selected List

  • Gordon, Bob and Maggie Gordon (Eds.). Complete Guide to Digital Graphic Design. 2002.

                        Call Number: T385 .C5487 2002

  • Heller, Steven and Georgette Balance (Eds.). Graphic Design History. 2001.

                         Call Number: NC998.4 .G667 2001

  • Landa, Robin. Graphic Design Solutions, 2nd Edition. 2001.

                         Call Number: NC997 .L32 2001

  • Lauer, David and Stephen Pentak. Design Basics, 5th Edition. 2000.

                        Call Number: NK1510 .L38 2000

  • Pipes, Alan. Production For Graphic Designers, 3rd Edition. 2001.

                      Call Number: Z244 .P57 2001

  •  Woodham, Jonathan. Twentieth-Century Design. 1997.

                      Call Number: NK1390 .W59 1997

 

Reference Materials

  • Contemporary Designers. 1997.                           

                    Call Number: REF NK1390 .C655 1997

  • Design: A Crash Course. 2000.                 

                    Call Number: REF NK1510 .C62 2000

  • Design Encyclopedia. 2004.                

                    Call Number: REF NK1370 .B93 2004

  • Design of the 20th Century. 1999.                

                    Call Number: REF NK1390 .F525 1999

  • Designmuseum: 20th Century Design. 2000.                

                    Call Number: REF NK1390 .M35 2000

  • Encyclopedia of Graphic Communications. 1998b.                

                    Call Number: REF  Z118 .G29 1998b

  • Meggs’ History of Graphic Design, 4th Edition. 2006.                

                    Call Number: REF  Z246 .M43 2006

Research Databases

To access Valencia’s research databases, open your Atlas account, select ‘Search the Library’, then select ‘Databases A-Z’.

  • Academic Search Completer
  • Art Full Text
  • Oxford Art Online
  • JSTOR
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega



This Research Guide is designed to help users find information on a particular topic within the Valencia College East Campus Library.  This is by no means a comprehensive list of resources and other resources may be available on this topic.  Please check the LINCCWeb, VCC East’s online catalog, to verify the availability of circulating books within the library.  Feel free to ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.

Copyright 2007

Valencia College East Campus Library

Last Revised on April 5, 2007

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.