Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask The Puma Research Guides: Cognitive Development Theory – Jean Piaget

Quick start research guides to hundreds of assignments given at Valencia East Campus.

Resources

Cognitive Development Theory – Jean Piaget

Jean Piaget (1896-1980) was a Swiss psychologist known for his cognitive development theory.  This theory focused on the development of intelligence in children.

 

Call Numbers for Searching the Shelves

  •  BF311
  •  BF723 .C5

Circulating Books – A Selected List

  • Cohen, David. How the Child’s Mind Develops. 2002.

                      Call Number: BF723 .C5 C6363 2002

  •  Droz, R. and M. Rahmy. Understanding Piaget. 1976.

                      Call Number: BF311 .D7613

  •   Gruber, Howard E. and J. Jacques Voneche (Eds.). The Essential Piaget. 1977.

                       Call Number: BF723 .C5 P494

  •   Phillips, John L., Jr. Piaget’s Theory: A Primer. 1981.

                      Call Number: BF311 .P523 P48

  •     Singer, Dorothy and Tracey Revenson. A Piaget Primer: How a Child Thinks. 1996.

                        Call Number: BF723 .C5 S6 1996

 

LINCCWeb online catalog – Search Terms

  •  Cognitive Development Theory (Keywords Anywhere)
  •  Piaget, Jean (Subject Keywords)

Reference Materials

  •  Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2nd Ed.  Call Number: REF BF31 .E553 1996

o   Pgs. 688-690

  •   Dictionary of Psychology.  Call Number: REF BF31 .C65 2001

o   Pgs. 559-560

  •  Encyclopedia of Psychology.  Call Number: REF BF31 .E52 2000

o   Vol. 6, pgs. 193-196

  •   Psychology Basics, Revised Ed.  Call Number: REF BF31 .P765 2005

o   Vol. 1, pgs. 172-178

 

Research Databases

To access Valencia’s research databases, open your Atlas account, select ‘Search the Library’, then select ‘Databases A-Z’.

  • Academic Search Complete
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega
  • SIRS Knowledge Source


 

This Research Guide is designed to help users find information on a particular topic within the Valencia College East Campus Library.  This is by no means a comprehensive list of resources and other resources may be available on this topic.  Please check the LINCCWeb, VCC East’s online card catalog, to verify the availability of circulating books within the library.  Feel free to ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.

Copyright 2006

Valencia College East Campus Library

Last Revised on April 19, 2006

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.