Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPC 1608 (Holmes DuBois) - Informative Speech: Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in SPC1017 with Professor Holmes DuBois at the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the right hand side of the "My Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by visiting the library website or by clicking the green "Databases" box below, and logging in using your VID number. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

http://info.eb.com/images/BOLAE_btn-web.jpg

Britannica Academic Edition is an online encyclopedia with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.

Current Events Databases

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.

 

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

 

NewsBank

NewsBank is a news collection database that features in-depth coverage of specific issues and events related to politics, economics, the environment, business, social issues, health, education, government, the arts, literature, science, culture and law. News coverage is from regional, national and international primary sources.

Biography Databases

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

 

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present (from 1900 to current times). This database is a good resource for 20th century icons.