Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BSC 1010H (Sage): PubMed & Medline

This is a guide to help students find original research articles in biology using PubMed.

PubMed vs Medline

PubMed   MEDLINE via EBSCOhost
What is it?

A database that contains more than 30 million citations to journal articles, and even some online books, in the major content areas of Biomedical Sciences, Nursing, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Allied Health, and Veterinary Medicine. It is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine.

A database that provides citations from over 5,200 current biology, biomedical, and health journals. It is produced by the National Library of Medicine and is indexed using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).

Content

Includes citations from MEDLINE, in-process citations, publisher supplied citations, PubMed Central (free full-text biomedical and lif, and NCBI Bookshelf.

In-process and publisher supplied citations have not been analyzed and indexed for Medline.

Citations that have been analyzed and indexed for Medline.

Everything that is in MEDLINE is in PubMed but everything that is in PubMed is not in MEDLINE.

Full-text Includes links to full-text articles through PubMed Central and/or through the journal publisher. Includes the full-text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1949
Search limits You can narrow or filter your search results by article types, text availability, publication dates, species, languages, sex, subjects, journal categories, ages, and search fields. You can narrow or limit your search results by article types, text availability, publication dates, species, languages, sex, subjects, journal categories, ages and search fields.
Availability

Available free on the Internet. 

URL:http://pubmed.gov    

Available to institutions like Valencia that subscribe to the database.
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.