Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BSC 1010H (Sage): Databases

This is a guide to help students find original research articles in biology using PubMed.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by visiting the Valencia College Library website, clicking the icon below and logging in using your VID number (Borrower ID). Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the dropdown menu. Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Helpful Databases

 

MEDLINE

Applied Science and Technology

GreenFILE 

 

JSTOR is a database that houses articles in the sciences and social sciences. When using this database, be sure to choose "Advanced Search" and use the checkboxes to mark all biology disciplines fitting your search.

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

 

TIP: When searching these databases, try searching your term as well as the words experiment, empirical, or study to ensure that your results are empirical in nature.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is another great database to locate free abstracts.

Google Scholar Search
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.