Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLS 1122 (East) - NSE: Community Resources

New Student Experience Guide for East Campus students.

What Else is Out There

 Community Resources

Many resources and services are available in the Central Florida community to help with a wide range of topics. From personal enrichment to financial assistance, the following list provides organizations that strive to give you the information and help you need. 

Organizations listed below include: 

Public Libraries..........United Way 2-1-1..........Better Business Bureau..........Florida Electronic Library..........Community Food & Outreach Center..........Legal Aid..........Adult Literacy League..........SafeLink Wireless

 

Public Libraries

One of the best gifts you can give yourself is a public library card. Many of the area public libraries are one-stop shops for movies, music, workshops, research help, entertainment and, yes, books! These cards will save you money while giving you access to a wealth of material and important services. Public library cards are free in the county you live in, and many of the area libraries have reciprocal borrowing agreements. So, even if you do not live in a specific county, you still may be able to obtain borrowing privileges.   

United Way 2-1-1

Need help and not sure where to turn? The United Way's 2-1-1 service is the perfect resource. There are two options for help: dial 2-1-1 or search the United Way's online database. Per the United Way's website, assistance is available in the following areas: 

  • Utilities, Housing and Food
  • Youth and Child Care Issues
  • Physical and Mental Health Services
  • 24-hour Crisis and Suicide Counseling
  • Elder Services
  • And much, much more

 

Better Business Bureau

The Better Business Bureau helps you make informed consumer decisions. Read business reviews or write one of your own. The Better Business Bureau also helps with dispute resolutions between consumers and businesses.  

 

Florida Electronic Library

By the time you graduate from Valencia, you will be quite familiar with our helpful research databases. While your access to these tools end once you graduate, there are other resources that will help with your research needs. The State of Florida provides the Florida Electronic Library as a free service to Florida residents. It houses a great collection of online resources which include books and articles that are not accessible through general internet searches.  

Community Food & Outreach Center

Life happens. The Community Food & Outreach Center provides support that helps you overcome life challenges and obstacles that may be beyond your control. Per the Community Food & Outreach Center's website, its services include the following:  

Hunger Relief

Emergency Food Pantry bags
DCF/ACCESS site for Food Stamps
Cost Share Grocery Program

Crisis Care

Full Case Management services
Housing assistance for the homeless and families at risk of homelessness
Domestic Violence Counseling
Mental Health Counseling
Substance Abuse Counseling

Computer Lab

Job Search
File and monitor Unemployment benefits
File and monitor Social Security benefits

Education Program

Adult Curriculum: Navigation, Financial Literacy, Job Readiness,
Health and Nutrition, 
Computer Skills – Monday through Friday

Legal Aid

Legal Aid

Legal Aid is a volunteer organization that provides civil legal assistance to low-income residents, children, and the disabled. Funded by the local bar association and staffed by attorneys, Legal Aid strives to help those in our community that are not financially able to seek other legal options. According to Legal Aid's website, its services include the following: 

  • Family Law: Divorce, custody, and guardianships.
  • Housing Law: Private tenant problems and foreclosure.
  • Consumer Law: Personal bankruptcies, debt collection, wage garnishment, bank account garnishment.
  • Immigration: Adjustment of status, citizenship, VAWA, and other immigration matters.
  • Guardian ad Litem: Only through appointment from Judges.

Adult Literacy League

Adult Literacy League 

Do you or someone you know need help with improving their reading skills? Try the Adult Literacy League. This organization will set you on the right path to literacy by proving one-on-one, group, or even family tutoring. The Adult Literacy League also offers classes for ESOL, ABE, GED, math, and computer skills. 

Safe Link

SafeLink Wireless

SafeLink offers a free cell phone and minutes program to income-eligible participants. Also, recipients of benefits such as food stamps or medicaid may qualify as well.