Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLS 1122 (East) - NSE: Databases

New Student Experience Guide for East Campus students.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases

1. Log in to Atlas: http://atlas.valenciacollege.edu

2. Click Search the Library (upper right corner on the MyAtlas tab).

When  Atlas is not working, you can click the green Databases box below to log into the databases. You will be prompted to log in using your Borrower ID and PIN. Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your Valencia ID, and the PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the dropdown menu. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. 

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

New Student Experience

The following databases are available through the library, and are appropriate for use by NSE students:

Note: Links will work only if you have logged into the library through Atlas first.

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Career Library is a comprehensive information resource for career and college research. Five user-friendly components help users match their interests to occupations, education prospects, and more. Created for individual researchers and career/education technology professionals, Career Library is a valuable addition to libraries and career centers.

EBSCO provides an extensive collection of eBooks on a variety to topics. Read online or download to a mobile device for a set period of time.  

Exapnded Academic ASAP - Topics range from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science, and technology. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.

 

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive career research database, providing detailed and up-to-date profiles of more than 2,900 of today's most popular jobs in 93 industries. This database now contains more than 1,000 new and updated in-depth job and industry descriptions from the new edition of Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance and from the popular Career Opportunities series—as well as a searchable archive of articles from current and past issues of Career Opportunities News, a 16-page, bi-monthly newsletter that provides timely information about colleges and the job market.

America's Newspapers - Updated daily, this comprehensive national news resource offers the complete electronic editions of more than 600 U.S. newspapers, many of which are not available in any other library database. The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post are all included. America's Newspapers also includes many local Florida newspapers, and their Spanish-language versions, where available.

Testing & Education Reference Center helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school. It includes preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). Testing & Education Reference Center provides a variety of search options to help you find all the information you need on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes. preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests.

Locate a Journal Article

Locate a specific journal article or title by searching our A-Z Journal ListingClick here to watch a quick video.

Simply type in the journal's name and click on Go, for example search for the Chronicle of Higher Education. You can search within that specific publication after clicking the title. You can also locate the volume and date of a specific article.

Ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.