Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Information Technology: Databases & Journals

What is a Database?

"Database" is a word that means a collection of something. Library Databases are collections of articles, images, video clips and other documents you can use for college-level research. The library subscribes to these resources each year, so they are only available to Valencia students, faculty and staff.

The contents of a database are different from the web sites you can find through Google and other search engines. They are specifically meant for college students and researchers to find information about topics.

Searching ScienceDirect

Databases Available

The following databases are available to Valencia College students.
They are available on and off campus.

Locate a Journal Article

Locate a specific journal article by searching our Journal A-Z Listing.

Simply type in the journal's name and click on Go.

There are the journals your professor recommends:

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.