Skip to main content

Health Information Technology: How to Access Library Resources

Access the Library Catalog

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in.   
  2. Click on the "Search the Library" link.
  3. On the page that follows, click Library Catalog

Searching for Books

Search for books in the Library Catalog.

  1. Enter key words related to your topic, or a title or author that you want to find.
  2. Where it says "Limit to," pick "Books."
  3. Click search.

Physically Locating Books

Locate books using the CALL NUMBER.

What is the call number?

  • The call number looks like this: LB2343.32 .N57 2011

Where is the call number?

  • The call number is found in the library catalog. Each book has a corresponding sticker on it with the call number for that book.

What do call numbers mean?

How do I find a call number on library shelves?

  • Library books are shelved alphabetically by call number. Each bookshelf is labeled with the range of call numbers that can be found on that shelf.

Accessing Library eBooks

Once, logged into Atlas, search for books in the Library Catalog.

  1. Enter key words related to your topic, or a title or author that you want to find.
  2. Where it says "Limit to," pick "e-Books."
  3. Click search.

From the library search page, you may also select the yellow eBooks tab.

Accessing the eBook

To access the e-book, click on the text in the library/title record that reads: 

Valencia: Click here to view this eBook. 

Access  will be restricted to valid borrowers.  You will only be able to access Valencia E-Books. 

Access Library Databases

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in.
  2. Click on the "Search the Library" link.
  3. On the page that follows, click Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject

Choosing a Database

Which of the 200+ database links should you click on? The long list can be quite overwhelming.

Use the Databases by Subject link to sort the database links into categories. Think about the topic you are researching. Does it fit into one or more of those categories? Example: The topic "AIDS in Africa" could fit into several categories: Health & Medicine, News & Current Events, General.

Expand the categories to see a list of databases for that subject. Click on the blue "i" icon to get details about each database.