Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 1020 (Gualtieri): Databases

A research guide designed to assist students with assignments in Professor Gualtieri's HUM1020 class.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Find the database you want in the alphabetical list to connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by clicking the green "Databases" box below. You will need to log in using your VID number (including the V). This is also your Borrower ID. Your PIN will be the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option and find the database you want to connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the drop-down menu.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences. This database should help you search for information on art movements, as well as criticisms of works of art.

 

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more. You will be able to find general information on a variety of 20th-century topics.

 


Film & Television Literature Index covers the spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. This database could help you find information on new media art, total art, pop art and computer art.

Humanities Related Databases

Image result for art and architecture source

Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.

Humanities Source covers worldwide content in all aspects of humanities. Topics include art, classical studies, communications, film, folklore, gender studies, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and theology.

 

Humanities E-Book

ACLS Humanities E-Book is an online collection of about 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities. Topics covered include American history, art and architectural history, literature, literary criticism, performance studies (theater, music, dance), philosophy, political science, religion, science/technology, sociology and women’s studies.

Biography Databases

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. This database will help you obtain background information on an artist's life.

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present (from 1900 to current times). This database is a good resource for 20th century artists and movements (i.e. Marcel Duchamp, Andy Warhol, pop art)

Literature Databases

Image result for artemis literary sources

Artemis Literary Sources provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources. Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

 

 

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full text database that includes plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journal articles, book reviews, author interviews, images, and full text poems, short stories, and novels.

 

 

Literature Criticism Online is the online archive of Contemporary Literary Criticism, which is also available in the Reference section of the Osceola Campus Library.