Skip to main content

ENC 1102 (Freuler): Databases

A guide to help students complete writing assignments in Professor Freuler's Comp II class at the Osceola Campus

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the Libraries box on the left side of the page. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Click on the database you want to search in the alphabetical list to connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

Sometimes you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Helpful Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. This database contains a number of newspaper and magazine articles, academic journal articles, eBooks, and statistics.

 

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.

 

Image result for cq researcher

CQ Researcher Plus explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports

 

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society offers articles on a number of controversial issues, including topics such as adoption, dieting, family issues, euthanasia, free speech and censorship, and many more.

 

America's News is a comprehensive national news resource offering the complete electronic editions of more than 600 U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. America's Newspapers also includes many local Florida newspapers, and their Spanish-language versions, where available.

ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

 

 

PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals ranging in date from 1894 to the present.

‚Äč

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Social Science, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Image result for jstor

JSTOR has access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Image result for academic one file

 

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.