Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AML2011 (Freuler): Databases

A guide to help students complete library research in Professor Freuler's American Literature class at the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the library catalog, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the left side of the "Courses" tab. The library catalog will open in a new window. From this page, do a simple keyword search, or click "Advanced Search" for more options. 

 

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Literature Databases

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The following databases will help you research specific works of literature or essays, and authors:

 

http://gale.cengage.co.uk/images/artemis_lit.jpg

Artemis Literary Sources (Gale) integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

 

 

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full text database that includes plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journal articles, book reviews, author interviews, images, and full text poems, short stories, and novels.

 

 

Literature Criticism Online is the online archive of several literature criticism volumes such as Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Poetry Criticism, Drama Criticism, and more.

 

 

The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete provides online versions of Gale's print literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online. This is a good place to find a biography of an author or poet.

 

History Databases

 

 

 

 

The following databases will help you research historical/daily life topics, as well as those dealing with folklore or religion:

American History helps students understand the issues, perspectives, and history that has shaped our nation.

 

 

 

History Reference Center contains full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, nearly 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 12,000 historical photos and maps, and 87 hours of historical film and video.

 

 

 

Daily Life Through History is a database that showcases what life was like throughout history. Use the "Eras" heading to find the time period needed, and read about daily life ad society at that time.

 

 

American Indian Experience is an invaluable digital resource that provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America. If you choose a research topic relating to Native American life, this is a good place to start.

 

 

African American Experience is the definitive research tool for African American history and culture. This database is a good starting point for researching any topics dealing with slavery or race.

 

 

World Religions: Beliefs, Cultures, and Controvery is a comprehensive reference resource provides a virtual textbook that covers religion across the globe. This database has a good amount of information on Puritan life and values, which could be helpful if you choose an essay dealing with those topics.

 

World Folklore and Folklife is the best database to find information and articles on mythology, from kinds of myths to actual stories from many different cultures.
 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

The following databases have a little bit of everything - use these to research general themes:

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences.

 

 

 

Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

 

 

Biography in Context provides periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. This database will help you obtain background information on your author's life.