Skip to main content

ENC 1101 (Freuler) - Researched Essay: Databases

A guide to help students complete library research in Professor Freuler's Freshman Composition I class at the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the library catalog, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the left side of the "Courses" tab. The library catalog will open in a new window. From this page, do a simple keyword search, or click "Advanced Search" for more options. 

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

 

Helpful Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to web sites.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. This database contains a number of newspaper and magazine articles, academic journal articles, eBooks, and statistics.

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more. Most of the information in this database is from academic journals, so it will be more scientific in nature.

 

America's News provides free access to US newspapers, including the Orlando Sentinel for local information.

 

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present (from 1900 to current times). This database is a good resource for 20th century icons.

 

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. 

 

Popular Magazines contains full-text articles from 1,000 of the most searched magazines including Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Cosmopolitan, NPR, Oprah, and many more. 

Osceola Campus Librarian