Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 & 1102 (Brunk): Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in Professor Brunk's Comp I and Comp II at Osceola.

Accessing Databases

There are two ways to access the databases at Valencia College Libraries:

1) Log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the Libraries box on the left side of the screen. When the Library Catalog page opens, you will already be logged in.

2) Start at any Valencia Web Page and select Libraries on Quick Links. Click on the big yellow Search button. Click the Login button in the top right corner of the screen. Your Borrower ID is your VID Valencia Identification number (with the V) and your PIN is the last 4 digits of your VID.

Once the Library Catalog opens and you are logged in, you can choose the database you want either from the “Databases A-Z” tab or from the “Databases by Subject” tab. Both tabs are located at the top above the catalog. When you find the database you would like to use, click on it to access it.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas may require you to log in using your VID.

Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.

 

‚Äč

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues.This database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.

 

Pop Culture Universe

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present (from 1900 to current times). This database is a good resource for 20th-century icons.

 

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

NewsBank

 

NewsBank is a news collection database that features in-depth coverage of specific issues and events related to politics, economics, the environment, business, social issues, health, education, government, the arts, literature, science, culture and law. News coverage is from regional, national and international primary sources.