Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EEX 2010 (Saintil) - Orientation to Exceptional Education: Databases

Online Sources

Books and ComputerValencia College Library provides a number of databases useful when researching education topics.  You may log into the library from your Atlas account (Search the Library) and search for articles through the LINCCWeb site (searching all the databases) or you can choose to go to the Databases A-Z section and focus in on one database at a time.  The recommended databases for education are:

   

Signing in to online resources

Great information!  Now, how do I get to it?  Watch the video to find out.

Do I use "scholarly" or "popular" articles?

When searching for articles, ask your professor if scholarly articles are required or if you can use popular articles.  Watch the video below to find out what's different about these types of articles.

Databases

 Click on the database icon to access the database.

If you are re-directed to a page asking for your Borrower ID and PIN to access the databases, use the Valencia ID number on your ID card (VID/Borrower's ID).  Enter the letter "V" and the 8 digits listed after the "V" on your ID Card. The PIN number is the last four digits of the VID number.  

Another method of getting into the databases is by logging into Atlas and clicking on the "Search the Library" link in the Libraries box on the My Atlas homepage.  Click open "Databases A-Z" link in the top tool bar.  In the alphabetical list of databases, choose the name of the database you want to search.  One notice:  Atlas will be changing the layout at the end of October.  At that time, the libraries have been told that Libraries box will move to the Courses tab.  

 

 

 

Academic Search Complete  

(EBSCO)  

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.  

 

 

 

Education Full Text

(H.W. Wilson)

(H.W. Wilson) - Indexes education periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed. Full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996.  Education Full-text covers a wide range of subjects such including Athletics  Distance Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, etc. 


   Educator's Reference Complete                                                                                                              (Gale)

(Gale) - This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Content included in the database is almost entirely full-text. The entire ERIC Database will be fully integrated into ERC with direct links to over 50% of the ERIC titles in FULL-TEXT.

 

 

 

Education Research Complete 

 (EBSCO)

 (EBSCO) - Education Research Center is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the worlds largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.  The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.  

 

 

 

ERIC

 (EBSCO) - A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). ERIC records now include full-text documents from the ERIC Digest at no extra charge. The database includes the ERIC thesaurus, a complete list of descriptive terms used by ERIC to index and search the database. Includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present.  Updated monthly. 

 

JSTOR Icon

 

  JSTOR

 

(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.