Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EEX 2010 (Saintil) - Orientation to Exceptional Education: Audio/Visual Examples

Films on Demand (Films Media Group)

Films On Demand (Films Media Group) database can be found in ValenciaCollege Library's Databases A-Z list.  As with other databases information, you must log into the system to access the information.  There are two ways to log in.  The first menthod is to log into Altas.  Once at the Atlas homepage, look for the Libraries box in the upper left corner.  Within the Libraries box, click on Search the Library.  You will be redirected to the LINCC 2.0 search page.  At the top ribbon, click on the Databases A-Z tab to take you to the Classic list of databases.  Scroll down to the title Films On Demand (Films Media Group) and click here.  Once in the database's homepage, you can either enter the videos 5-digit number or the videos name to access the video and accompanying information. You can also search the database by entering the author's name, name of the work, or subject.

Suggested streaming films for persuastion speech with "global impact"

Films On Demand (Films Media Group) Database:

(Video descriptions provided by Films Media Group)

 

The following are examples of special education videos available in the FMG database.  Search the database for a particular author, work, or subject -

 

 

Beyond F.A.T. City: A Look Back, a Look Ahead—A Conversation about Special Education (90:00)

F.A.T.—frustration, anxiety, tension—are three all-too-familiar feelings for children with learning disabilities and their families. In this program, Richard D. Lavoie, creator of the original F.A.T. City Workshop, reviews the history and philosophy of that project, the major trends and issues in the field of learning disabilities since the late 1980s, and the challenges ahead for educators and parents of children with LD. Lavoie is known worldwide for his powerful and provocative presentations on learning disabilities and has worked in special education for decades as a teacher, an administrator, an author, and a consultant. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (90 minutes)   Item Number: 41097

 

Lost Child? Living with an Intellectual Disability (91:00)

For a person with an intellectual disability, social communications and interactions can sometimes be limited or difficult. “We don’t always know how to get the feelings out,” says Alyssa Ruzzin, whose life is the focus of this film. Coping with the challenges of an intellectual disability compounded by epilepsy, she is an inspiring speaker and a forthright advocate for the rights of people with special needs. Over the course of this documentary filmed by her brother, viewers are given an opportunity to learn more about Alyssa’s rich interior life as well as her struggles and triumphs as she deals with going to work, being in a relationship, and other day-to-day activities. By opening up to Greg and his camera, Alyssa is hopeful that she “might be helping people realize what goes on in other people’s heads when they can’t speak about it.” (91 minutes)   Item Number: 50432

 

Misunderstood Minds (90:00)

For one in five students, learning is an exhausting and frustrating struggle. Often mistakenly called “lazy” or “stupid” by their teachers, classmates, and even their families, these children may be suffering from debilitating learning problems. If not addressed, the problems can have a devastating impact on the students' self-esteem and future academic and social success. This documentary shines a spotlight on this painful subject, following the stories of five families as, together with experts, they try to solve the mysteries of their children's learning difficulties. Produced and directed by renowned Frontline filmmaker Michael Kirk, this program shows the children's problems in a new light and serves as a platform to open a nationwide dialogue on how best to manage young, vulnerable, and misunderstood minds. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (90 minutes)   Item Number: 44328 

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.