Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 1020 (Hedegaard) - Class Presentation: Databases

A guide to help students conduct research in Professor Hedegaard's Introduction to Humanities class on the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the lower right corner on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

 

Search Google Scholar

Having trouble finding articles in the databases? Google Scholar will look for scholarly articles in Valencia's databases, as well as ones that are available online for free. Be sure to go to "Settings" and "Library Links" to change your settings and include results from Valencia.

Google Scholar Search

Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.

 

World Religions will be a helpful database for those students researching Reformation leaders.

 

Biography in Context provides biographies on important figures, past and present. Nearly all of you should find an article on your person here.

 

 

 

Oxford Art Online provides web access to the text of The Dictionary of Art, which covers all aspects of the visual arts of every civilization from prehistory to the 1990s. Those of you researching an artist will find information here.

 

http://gale.cengage.co.uk/images/artemis_lit.jpg

Artemis Literary Sources (Gale) provides students with access to an assortment of traditional literary reference essays, but also contains analyses and biographies for those of you researching an author.