Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.
Veteran Affairs & Benefits books available at East Campus Library
Social Security, Medicare and Government Pensions by
Call Number: KF3650.M37 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-09
Get the most out of the new Medicare drug coverage! Everyone wants to get the highest possible retirement and pension income --not to mention the best medical coverage. This book is your guide to finding retirement benefits, figuring out the best time to claim them, and then doing so quickly and easily. - Proquest
Social Security, Medicare and Government Pensions by
Call Number: KF3650.M37 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-26
Everyone wants the highest possible retirement and pension income-not to mention the best medical coverage. Discover everything you're entitled to with this completely updated edition of Social Security, Medicare Government Pensions. - Proquest
Social Security, Medicare and Government Pensions by
Call Number: KF3650.M37 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-27
Learn about Medicare coverage, including Part D prescription drug coverage, and understand medigap insurance and Medicare managed care and what makes the most sense for you. And if you are denied for any medical treatment or benefits, this book teaches you how to file an appeal with Medicare, Social Security, or your state's Medicaid agency. Also learn how to claim disability benefits, veterans benefits, and federal retirement benefits. This edition updates benefit numbers for Social Security, Medicare, and SSI for 2015. - Catalog
Supreme Court Decisions and Women's Rights by
Call Number: KF4758.S87 2011
Publication Date: 2010-08-10
Featuring more than 100 cases and updated biographies, "Supreme Court Decisions and Women's Rights" provides a complete study of all the important issues and movements involving the Supreme Court and the role it plays in shaping women's rights. - Amazon
Court proceeding: Giving veterans job preferences -- Personnel Administrator of Mass. v. Feeney (1979)
Claim Denied! by
Call Number: KF7713.R63 2009
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
"The VA is not your loving Uncle Sam who opens his wallet and says, 'Here you are, nephew--a $1,000 check per month for the rest of your life. That should take the pain out of your service injuries,' " writes John D. Roche. Far from it, he reveals. Though the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 requires Veterans Affairs to assist veterans in developing the foundation to support their claims, in reality if you rely on the VA to find and develop the evidence necessary to grant benefits then your claim is likely to be denied. Claim Denied! will help those veterans whose benefits have been denied correct the mistakes they made when they submitted their original claims. Appealing a VA decision is not an impossible feat, Roche says, but a veteran's story must be presented in a well-organized and logical format, so any reviewing authority is able to understand the issues as they relate to the laws. This book explains in detail how to develop and present a successful appeal. - Proquest
Veteran Appeals Guidebook by
Call Number: KF7713.V48 2013
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
This book seeks to assist practitioners representing veterans and other claimants who are appealing or wish to appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (CAVC). It addresses the basics of appeals to the CAVC, explores the jurisdiction of the court, and outlines the CAVC appellate process. Many practitioners either have not previously handled an appeal to the court or do so only infrequently. This book will help facilitate appeals to the court and perhaps increase the chances for appellate success. - Proquest
Veterans Rights and Benefits by
Call Number: KF7745.J37 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-05
As soldiers return from war, they begin the difficult process of re-assimilating into society. Veterans' Rights and Benefits is written for the returning and active soldier and his or her family in an effort to clarify those rights available to them, as well as explain some of the obstacles they may encounter in seeking them. Author, Margaret C. Jasper explains in detail rights and benefits such as basic health care, including specializations including PTSD or amputation therapies; education and vocational rehabilitation, which spans from college education and funding to basic reintegration rehabilitation; compensation and pension benefits, applications, qualifications, and spousal support; home loans, applications, qualifications, and rate details; life insurance, terms of applications and extent of coverage; and burial and survivor benefits. This Almanac serves as a one-stop resource for accessing the most up-to-date information on the rights and benefits of Veterans in an easy-to-read format. - Proquest
Veterans Affairs Law by
Call Number: KF7745.S36 2012
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Veterans Affairs Law is the first and only doctrinal text in the field of veterans affairs. This text employs the case method to explore the primary benefits available to military veterans and their families, the procedures by which claims for benefits are adjudicated, and the availability of representation to those seeking benefits. Targeted towards law students and practitioners alike, Veterans Affairs Law encourages and challenges readers to focus on the policy rationales that have driven the evolution of veterans affairs law in the United States, to consider how those rationales impact the outcomes of borderline cases, and to identify situations in which legal change may be required. - Proquest
Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals by
Call Number: LAWREF KF240.B68 2009
Publication Date: 2008-06-17
Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals, Fifth Edition, designed to focus on issues paralegals face on the job, provides an excellent introduction to the science--and art--involved in legal research and writing. - Proquest
Contains: West's Military Justice Reporter and Veterans Appeals Reporter.
Military Life 101 by
Call Number: U766 .F37 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-08
"Making the most of all your new military life has to offer can be difficult when you aren't familiar with what life in the military really means. Military Life 101: Basic Training for New Military Families answers many of the questions that service members and their family may have about life in and around the armed forces. Janet I. Farley addresses what to expect from life on the home front in the military and how this career path not only affects the service members but their families. This useful, concise guide effectively introduces new service members and their families to the culturally relevant and need-to- know information required to survive and thrive in the ever-evolving military lifestyle, "--Amazon.com.
What every veteran should know: veterans benefits 2017 by
Call Number: UB357 .W5
Publication Date: 2017
Provides information on benefits and services for veterans, covering such topics as healthcare, education benefits, life insurance, military pay, overseas benefits, and home loan guarantees. - Amazon
For Service to Your Country by
Call Number: UB357.G39 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
The Must-Have Guide To Veterans' BenefitsIf you're a veteran--or a veteran's family member--you know how hard it is to navigate the VA benefits maze. This definitive guide steers you through the process so that you and your family can get the benefits you're entitled to. Filled with vital information on the latest programs, here is clear, step-by-step, form-by-form advice on cutting through the red tape. And if benefits are denied, it will show you how to appeal an unfair decision. In this newly updated edition, you'll find essentials on: Health Care, Disability, and Rehabilitation--including changes in eligibility and access; Emergency Room care at non-VA facilities; Project Hero for veterans in rural areas; the VA's new suicide prevention outreach initiative; the Benefits Delivery at Discharge program (BDD) for transitioning service members. Education--Complete information on the Post 9/11 GI Bill, which doubles educational benefits to eligible veterans. VA Loans for Home Ownership--For veterans facing foreclosure or looking to purchase after foreclosure. Job Preference Eligibility and Entrepreneurship Opportunities--New non-VA services that are available to veterans. Plus new benefits for dependents and an expanded resource list. When you're dealing with a system that says no more than yes, it helps to know every angle--before you fill out those forms in triplicate. Take advantage of these opportunities if you are eligible. You've earned them and deserve them. --Bob Dole - Proquest
Veterans Benefits for Dummies by
Call Number: UB357.P69 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-09
Saving veterans and their families from months of phone calls and internet searches, Veterans Benefits For Dummies outlines the various programs that the VA and other government agencies have in place as well as the procedures for filing applications, claims, and appeals for these benefits which include: * Health care * Ongoing care for wounded and disabled vets * Education assistance * Vocational rehabilitation * Life insurance * Home loan guarantees * Pensions * Survivors' benefits * Burial benefits. - Proquest
Serving America's Veterans by
Call Number: UB357.S47 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
The infrastructural, administrative, and health care challenges facing the Veterans Administration, policymakers, and the American people are laid out in an authoritative handbook of veterans affairs in the United States. - Proquest
Veterans' Benefits and Care by
Call Number: UB357.V385 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) provides services and benefits to veterans who meet certain eligibility criteria. Benefits to veterans range from disability compensation and pensions to hospital and medical care. Furthermore, veterans' education benefits have evolved substantially over the last 60-plus years. This book reviews the two disability programs administered by the VA, one of which is called the Disability Compensation, and the other which is known as a Disability pension. The authors of this book discuss the eligibility criteria and the fundamentals of these VA-administered disability benefit programs and related issues. The evolution of veterans' education benefit programs are also examined and the types of education benefits made available under these programs are described. Furthermore, the VA administers several pension benefit programs for the surviving spouses and dependent children of veterans. This book describes these programs, including the eligibility criteria and current benefit levels. Other chapters in this book examine the provisions of the National Defense Authorization Act, reflecting the congressional concern about the quality and availability of medical, mental health and dental care services for service members returning from active duty in Iraq and Afghanistan. It is well-known that veterans have a number of risk factors that increase their chance of attempting suicide. This book discusses suicide prevention efforts by the VA This book consists of public documents which have been located, gathered, combined, reformatted, and enhanced with a subject index, selectively edited and bound to provide easy access. - Proquest
Veterans' Policies, Veterans' Politics by
Call Number: UB357.V438 2012
Publication Date: 2012-11-27
The study of military veterans and politics has been a growing topic of interest, but to date most research on the topic has remained isolated in specific, unconnected fields of inquiry. Veterans' Policies, Veterans' Politics is the first multidisciplinary, comprehensive examination of the American veteran experience. Stephen Ortiz has compiled some of the best work on the formation and impact of veterans' policies, the politics of veterans' issues, and veterans' political engagement over the course of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries in the United States. By examining the U.S. government's treatment of veterans vis-à-vis such topics as health care, disability, race, the GI Bill, and combat exposure, the contributors reveal how debates regarding veterans' policies inevitably turn into larger political battles over citizenship and the role of the federal government. With the conflicts in Afghanistan and Iraq now the longest military operations in U.S. history and the numbers of veterans returning from overseas deployment higher than they've been in a generation, this is a timely and necessary book.
Call Number: UB357.V484 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book provides an overview of the benefits, issues, policies and programs relating to our military service members. Topics discussed in this issue include health care for rural veterans; further actions needed to collaborate on providing health care to Native American veterans; trends and programs of employment for veterans; the VA vocational rehabilitation and employment program; and includes frequently asked questions on military funeral honors and military cemeteries. - Proquest
The Wounded Warrior Handbook by
Call Number: UB363 .M66 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-17
The typical wounded soldier must complete and file twenty-two forms after an active-duty injury. To soldiers and their families coping with the shock and reality of the injuries, figuring out what to do next—even completing tasks that seem easy like submitting paperwork—can be overwhelming and confusing.
The second edition of this popular resource guide has been thoroughly revised to reflect new policies, additional benefits, updated procedures, and changes to insurance, including traumatic injury insurance and social security disability insurance. New chapters cover veterans' benefits in depth—which have seen significant changes in the last two years—and returning to active duty after an injury.
As in the previous edition, this guide directs you to answers and resources for the most pressing and difficult questions that wounded veterans face, such as:
Where can I find information on symptoms and treatments of injuries?
How do I get through all this paperwork?
Where can I get legal assistance?
What can I do for employment?
How do I get back into everyday life?
How can I return to active duty?
How do I deal with insurance?
What benefits are available to me, and how do I claim them?
What about my family? How can they help me?
This trusted resource is both comprehensive and easy to use, and now the most up-to-date guide for wounded veterans and their families dealing with active-duty injuries. - Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Veterans' Disability Benefits by
Call Number: UB363.V48 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
For years, the Veterans Administration (VA) has struggled with an increasing workload of disability compensation claims. The average time to complete a claim was 188 days in fiscal year 2011, and the VA expects an increase in claims received as 1 million servicemembers leave military service over the next 5 years. As the Government Accountability Office (GAO) and other organizations have previously reported, the VA has faced challenges in reducing the time it takes to decide veterans' claims. This book examines the factors that contribute to lengthy processing times for disability claims and appeals; and the status of the Veteran's Benefits Administration (VBAs) recent efforts to improve disability claims and appeals processing timelines. - Proquest
Veterans Benefits by
Call Number: UB369 .V474 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) administers directly, or in conjunction with other federal agencies, programs that provide benefits and other services to veterans and their spouses, dependants and beneficiaries. This book outlines a selection of benefits for service members, including Dependency and Indemnity Compensation (DIC) for survivors of certain service members and veterans; healthcare for dependants and survivors of veterans; benefits for service-connected disabilities; project HERO implementation; health care and benefits for veterans exposed to agent orange and veterans life insurance programs. - Proquest
Balancing Life and Education While Being a Part of a Military Family by
Call Number: UB403 .V45 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-15
Military spouse education is an often overlooked topic. With the proliferation of service member programs and benefits, and the spotlight on them, it is not uncommon for spouses to neglect looking into their own educational opportunities and benefits. The hectic life of a military family also often complicates the process of attending an institution of higher education, for spouses. There are numerous programs and benefits that a spouse may have access to, but they are difficult to find and navigate properly.
Balancing Life and Education While Being a Part of a Military Family: A Guide to Navigating Higher Education for the MilitarySpouse attempts to highlight these possibilities and inform and assure this population that attaining an education is possible regardless of location or current circumstances. Numerous programs and benefits are described, as well as the best way to go about using them. Detailed instructions are illustrated to make the process of obtaining an education easier and to give spouses more confidence in pursing their own education. In addition, the specific considerations of military family life are addressed along with these instructions.
Education is really important, and a lot of times military spouses aren’t aware of the opportunities and resources available to them to pursue it. The authors of From theNavy to College: Transitioning from the Service to Higher Education and From the Army to College: Transitioning from the Service to Higher Education have put together a clear guidebook will make the process easy, accessible, and understandable. They offer clear advice and information about resources available to spouses of service members, creating a go-to guide for pursuing higher education.
Military Advantage 2010 by
Call Number: UC74.H69 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-15
Following on the success of the previous editions, The Military Advantage, 2010 Edition is the annual reference providing the most current and complete guide to both active military and veterans benefits. Written by Terry Howell, benefits expert for Military.com, the guide is backed by the resources of Military.com and its parent company, Monster.com. The Military Advantage is the most reliable benefits guide for the over 30 million Americans who have answered the call to serve in the military. These valuable benefits include billions in scholarships, educational benefits, home loan guarantees, and military discounts. The Military Advantage is the one essential resource for everyone with military or veterans' benefits. This reference guide is a proven guide to making the most of military service whether one is on active duty, a veteran, a military retiree, or a family member. - Proquest