Valencia College Library provides a number of databases useful when researching education topics. You may log into the library from your Atlas account (Search the Library) and search for articles through the LINCCWeb site (searching all the databases) or you can choose to go to the Databases A-Z section and focus in on one database at a time. The recommended databases for COMP II are:
Click on the database icon to access the database.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete (Gale)
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete contains biographical essays on more than 12,000 authors.
General OneFile (Gale)
General OneFile contains 7,800 full-text titles, 3,600 refereed journals, and hundreds of newspapers covering all subjects.
JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing . This resource includes more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; 75,000 articles of literary criticism; 130,000 author biographies; full text of more than 300 literary journals; 500,000 book reviews; 25,000 classic & contemporary poems; over 11,000 classic & contemporary short stories; full text of more than 7,500 classic novels; over 3,000 author interviews; and over 1,000 images of key literary figures.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
Literature Criticism Online brings together nine acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. The database includes: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Artemis Literary Sources (Gale)
Artemis Literary Sources from Gale provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.
Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
Virtual Reference Library offers more than 85 reference sources including Drama for Students, Poetry for Students, Short Stories for Students, and others.
When searching for articles, ask your professor if scholarly articles are required or if you can use popular articles. Watch the video below to find out what's different about these types of articles.