Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLS 1122 (Osceola STEM) - STEM NSE: Library Resources

This guide is designed to help students with research and resource evaluation as they complete assignments for the STEM New Student Experience course on the Osceola Campus.

Finding Books

There are two ways to search for books at the Valencia College Libraries:

  1. Log into your Atlas account by clicking the icon below, and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner of the "My Atlas" tab
  2. Visit the library catalog without logging in by clicking the box below

There are benefits to accessing the catalog through Atlas. You will be able to hold or request books online, so they are available when you visit a campus library. However, the link above will grant you access to the catalog in the event of an Atlas outage.

Finding Articles

To access the databases, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list and click on the link to connect to it. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

 

Useful Databases

General Science Full Text covers a wide array of science-related topics including astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, environment,genetics, physics, physiology, zoology and much more. Its features include graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information.

 

Science in Context delivers integrated content through comprehensive reference sets from Gale Encyclopedia of Science, Chemical Elements, Science in Dispute and Macmillan Science Library, as well as topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles from noted publications like "Science Weekly", "Science News" and "The Science Teacher," images and videos, and more.

 

Computer Databases offers access to today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications and electronics industries. 

 

http://www.leominsterlibrary.org/images/fergusons_career.gif

Fergusons Career Guidance Center: The Career Guidance Center provides career research assistance from Facts on File's Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance and Career Opportunities, as well as archived issues of the journal Career Opportunities News.