Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
APA Sample Papers
Visit this link to view sample student and professional papers in APA 7th edition style.
Books & eBooks
Use for print book, eBook from Library Database
or eBook on the Web
Chapter in an Edited Book
Use for chapter in a print book, chapter in an eBook from a library database, or chapter in an eBook on the web
Use for DSM-5 online or DSM-5 in print.
Entry in a Reference Book
Use for an entry in a dictionary, thesaurus or encyclopedia in print, from a library database, or on the web
Work in an Anthology
Use for a work that has been republished in an anthology in print or in an eBook from a library database.
Data & Reports
Use for citing information from tables and charts found in library databases and on the web. For tables and charts that you reprint or embed in your work, see Images and Tables (Reprinted / Embedded).
Report by a Government Agency
Use for reports published by government agencies (most frequently found using government websites).
Images and Tables (Reprinted / Embedded)
Use these guidelines for images you reprint or embed directly in your work. These images are not cited on your references list but instead use the rules for tables and figures.
Periodicals (Newspapers, Magazines, Journals & Blogs)
Use for webpages on websites that are not newspapers, magazines, journals or blogs. For an online dictionary, thesaurus or encyclopedia, see the example for Entry in a Reference Book.
Use for Instagram, Twitter or Facebook.
Personal communications, including e-mails, live interviews, conversations, text messages, classroom lectures, live speeches, personal letters, etc., are cited only in your text and NOT on your references page.