Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUL 1110 (Territo) - Music Literature: Library Resources

Start Here First

The best way to access the resources on this page is to sign in to Atlas. Go to the Courses tab, and select Search the Library.

  

Catalog

The library catalog is the gateway into all of the wonderful resources the library has to offer. Find books, articles, eBooks, and much more! Many of your composers will have biographies you can check out of the library. Additionally, we have many music related encyclopedias and dictionaries such as Lives of the Great Composers and The Great Composers and Their Works that will give you lots of interesting details about your composers.

 

Recommended Databases

Online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Cites biographical articles appearing in any of more than 3,000 periodicals, plus some 2,000 current books of individual and collective biography published each year, and biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Besides biographies and autobiographies, it includes citations to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews, bibliographies and exhibition reviews.  People covered range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities. 

 

 

Grove Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and MusiciansThe New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

  

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. 

  

SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

  

Full text periodicals, along with article abstracts and indexing, covering business, education, science, social sciences, art, humanities and plus popular magazines.